Intune guide to setup 365

Copper Contributor

I'm fairly new to Intune - and I'm a little shocked at how hard it is to setup 365 for users.  There is no documentation that goes through it for a minimum setup users would need.

When I say setup 365 for the users I mean:

1. Install office

2. Setup outlook profile

3. Log Teams in

4. Log Onedrive in

5. Turn on OneDrive backup

6. Add outlook / teams icon to the task bar.

This to me should be 1 doc - with simple clear instructions.  (and should actually be a simple task in InTune).  Is there any guide / process to do this simple / basic setup?

5 Replies

@ErikWW

Installing Office (M365 Apps) from Intune is available as an option in Apps management.  If you choose the settings format option "Configuration Designer" you can choose the Apps you want, the processor architecture and even set activation type.  The guide is here:  

https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/mem/intune/apps/apps-add-office365#:~:text=Add%20Microsoft%20365%20... 

There is also an option to use an advanced XML configuration to allow full customization if you have specific requirements and you can use the Office deployment tool to build your XML if needed or use the Configuration tool at https://config.office.com. 

@Sean McLaren 

That only looks after step 1 - It's the other steps that are the real issue.

I want to make a machine that the user logs in to and gets to work.   Full setup 365. (not just installed)