SOLVED

How do i get two volumes to be accessible remotly via FTP on one IP?

Copper Contributor

Hi all,

New here, so really grateful for the help. I'm quite new to Windows server so go easy on me. I'm trying to make two of my storage pools acessable remotely. My first on via my private adress on port 21 works great on LAN and remotly. The second one i just cant work out.

Ive tried for the second pool:

Creating a port on 22 (in FTP, firewall and my router)

Using my public adress in FTP

Tried using Virtual Host Name (yet im confused as to what this should be)

Can anyone help or point me in the right direction?

Many thanks.

5 Replies
Greetings Pickles. As you probably know, FTP is an old school protocol which was designed with the assumption that either the client (in active mode) or server (in passive mode) has a public IP address and can open multiple ports. To deal with that limitation, routers typically rewrite the IP address and ports within the FTP protocol, which is standardized on port 21, and what I would guess is why it works on 21 but not on 22.

Since it does work on port 21, you can utilize the Virtual Host Name feature you've already mentioned. The key to connecting using that feature is to add whatever virtual host name you choose to the username when logging in with the format: `hostname|username`. You'll find this documented on MS Docs with a better example:
https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/iis/publish/using-the-ftp-service/using-ftp-virtual-host-names-in-i...

The rest of the MS Docs article might possibility cover some other questions too. Depending on your scenario, there may be other protocols you might consider, but I admit most of them have some annoying limitations, no nice GUIs, and/or no nice Windows/Explorer integration like the FTP support does (at least without third party software).

@Jonathan Kay 

Thankyou so much for your response. I have tried everything on that site before hand and it wont work, so at least im not going mad!