Windows Server Summit 2024
Mar 26 2024 08:00 AM - Mar 28 2024 04:30 PM (PDT)
Microsoft Tech Community
LIVE
SOLVED

Virtual Windows Server 2008 R2 Additional Domain Controller Upgrade Help

Copper Contributor

Hi All,

I'm having confusion about upgrading our company domain controller. I've researched from the internet everything I could gather even read all the docs from Microsoft about the guides/overviews about the upgrade on the said OS. still, I'm not 100% sure if all the research I gather will help me through the process/steps to upgrade the server from the latest/available new version. 

Our company has 4 domain controllers, 3 of them are the additional/backup DC. I'm trying to install to 1 of the additional DC. is it possible to upgrade if that additional is on a virtual machine? I'm new to virtualization and I don't know if either I will upgrade our primary DC or the additional DC. just because the additionals are still running windows 2008 R2 Standard, I somehow want to upgrade one by one of them if I get successfully upgrade from 1 of the additional. the primary is now running 2012 R2.  

7 Replies

Hi @spacegabx 

It is possible to do an in-place upgrade for a virtual machine.

best response confirmed by spacegabx (Copper Contributor)
Solution

Do not in-place upgrade them. The much simpler / clean method is to use dcdiag / repadmin tools to verify health correcting all errors found before starting. Then stand up the new guest, patch it fully, license it, join existing domain, add active directory domain services, promote it also making it a GC (recommended), transfer FSMO roles over (optional), transfer pdc emulator role (optional), use dcdiag / repadmin tools to again verify health, when all is good you can decommission / demote old one.