SOLVED

Storage performance when using parity

Copper Contributor

Hello, Storage Team!  I am a consultant (and Microsoft MVP) that sees Hyper-V Replica, Storage Spaces and Storages Spaces Direct as great solutions for my SMB (the protocol and small- to mid-sized businesses). :)

The major issue I've run into is storage performance when using parity.  Specifically, write performance can be extremely slow, and rebuild times have made some use cases impractical.  Is there any work being done to help with this?  I understand that storage tiering (hot/cold tiers) might be one approach, but costs are a major issue for these clients.  Any suggestions would be welcome!

4 Replies
I'll also add that I found this Storage Spaces documentation to be very helpful, but I'd like a way to estimate read/write speeds with certain disk combinations. Of course, performance is the major concern for relatively large arrays (spinning disks).

https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/windows-server/storage/storage-spaces/choosing-drives

(P.S. Sorry for not startring a new conversation; I didn't see a way to do that). :)
best response confirmed by Anil Desai (Copper Contributor)
Solution

Hi Anil, 

We have worked to improve rebuild times for Spaces across mirror, parity, and mirror-accelerated parity volumes. These improvements will be available in the Windows Server, Version 1709 release, and some of these improvements have been backported to previous 2016 releases as well. Let us know if you continue to see unsatisfactory rebuild performance, and if so, we'd like to hear more and use your feedback and target scenarios to improve rebuild performance further.