SOLVED

Server 2019 Datacenter can't create Static IP for Virtual Switch

Copper Contributor

Hello. I’m a newbie to virtualization, this is my first project. I’m hoping to take this server live by 2Q 2021. It’s what I define as a low resource load project so the server isn’t the fanciest or fastest. HW Spec at the bottom of this document. It was originally going to be a test and development machine but has been repurposed to use in production.

I’ve run into a dead end trying to configure Virtual Switches with Static IP’s. I’ve read a lot of documentation, tried various approaches and am hoping that someone can point me to something that works.

I’ve set up the Core with Desktop Experience so that I don’t have to learn WAC or all of the Power Shell commands while doing my first project.

Here is what I’m trying to accomplish.

The server has 14 NIC’s. Two on the motherboard which are reserved for the Core and are teamed with a Static IP. There are 12 (three 4 Port PCIe) NIC’s which support SR-IOV which I would like to use to reduce processing load on the server. I need to configure each NIC with a Static IP. I want to attach 1 Virtual NIC with a static IP to each VM for internet access.

If I add the IPv4 Static IP prior to trying to use the NIC to create a Virtual Switch the Virtual Switch creation fails it the following message “A protocol on the network adapter prevented it from binding to the virtual switch”.