SOLVED

Installing Hyper-V on Windows Server 2022 reduces host system CPU to 1 core 1 thread

Copper Contributor

Bit of an odd situation, I've installed Windows Server 2022 (desktop experience) on a server, installed MegaStorage MSM and the relevant drivers from Supermicro and any Windows updates. When I install the role HyperV (just the Windows feature Hyper V, not any VMs), my host goes from 8c16t to 1c1t. I thought it might be a visual bug, but it runs like a snail stuck in syrup, so it seems like it's running on 1c. The L1 and L2 caches reported by Task Manager are also altered, but the reported caches are 1/8s of total cache, so it fits the core reduction.

I'm not experienced with Server 2022, and I've only really set up HyperV and VMs on Windows 7/10/11 as well as VirtualBox previously, so it's entirely possible this is amateur hour and I've forgotten to set/install something basic and obvious.

As for the usual suspects, I've double checked BIOS settings (originally set by the hardware supplier) and everything VT-related looks enabled. The msconfig -> Boot -> Advanced -> "Number Of Processors" check box is unchecked.

My supplier suggested it might be a Server 2022 software issue, so I installed Windows Server 2019 (evaluation edition, no license) and it just works. HyperV goes in, CPU remains 8c16t. I upgraded that install with HyperV enabled from Server 2019 (eval) to Server 2022 (licensed) and the upgrade reduces my host CPU to 1c1t.

The system in question:

Motherboard: Supermicro X11SPL-F running 3.6 BIOS
CPU: Intel Xeon Silver 4208SP 8c16t
RAM: 16GB DDR4 3200MHz ECC Registered 2Rx8 Samsung x4
Controller: Avago/Broadcom/LSI/whatever the flavour of the month SAS9341-8i
Storage: 2x Samsung PM883 SSD 960GB running RAID1

Here are screenshots of the feature list, Task Manager and Device Manager before and after: https://ibb.co/v1mP8Zn https://ibb.co/6Z6xj7C

Edit: Corrected feature to role.