Risk of system getting hacked through the internet or Wi-fi?

Brass Contributor

Dear everyone

I am not a high profile person or anything like that. I just dislike the idea, that someone with bad intentions could access my personal files, documents, photos etc. (personal diary, baby pictures of my children etc.)

I am not worried about anyone getting a look at my internet traffic / man-in-the-middle attack etc. I am only concerned about, that someone with bad intentions being able to access my personal files.

I assume, that it is not impossible to “hack” my system and get access to my files, but “how hard” would it be for someone commited to the task?

Is the only way to access my files, if they planted malware on my system?

Or if they accessed screen share?

My questions concerns both:

If the person accessed / hacked my wi-fi / home network

Or

Only through the internet

Settings:

Microsoft Windows 10 Home

Windows login password protected

Windows Defender firewall

No file or folder sharing enabled

Network discovery is turned off

File and printer sharing is turned off

AVG registers threats in real-time

All software drivers etc. fully updated

Wi-fi is password protected

Network / Wi-fi profile: Private

Router security WPA2-Personal

I become uneasy, when I read posts like this, which makes it sound “easy”:

https://www.quora.com/Can-a-hacker-control-my-computer-through-Wi-Fi-connection-only/answer/Aaron-Sh...

https://www.quora.com/How-do-I-hack-a-computer-on-same-network/answer/Har**bleep**-Dangwal

Please let me know, if I shall add more info concerning the above.

Thanks in advance for replying

Best regards

13 Replies
it depends the software what you used...
1.keeping the firewall running,
2.close the software's upload function
3.make sure the softwares you need are download from offical website or application store
4.I used 360 Antivirus software,you can try it,it has a function named Network traffic monitoring.