SOLVED

Weird problem running simple script between Powershell ISE and Powershell

Iron Contributor

Hi,

I'm new to powershell and I've been developing some simple scripts to check stuff in our internal network. Now I want to set a task to run a script every morning at 9am. So I got the script ready and tested, and configured the task schedule pointing to that script and run it, but there is not execution.
So I started to read about possible debug for my case. While reading, I've decided to write a very simple script, just to check if it would run from the task scheduler, and it doesn't run.

This is the script:

# Write date to a txt file
get-date > C:\Temp\debug.txt
# Open a pop-up window
powershell -WindowStyle hidden -Command "& {[System.Reflection.Assembly]::LoadWithPartialName('System.Windows.Forms'); [System.Windows.Forms.MessageBox]::Show('Teste','WARNING')}"

If I run this script from Powershell ISE everything goes well, file is created and the pop-up opens.

If I run this script directly from powershell using "powershell c:\Temp\Test.ps1" it opens the pop-up window, but the file is not created.

If I run this script from task scheduler nothing happens, even though the event says it ran.

So I'm really missing something here.

Can anyone point me out in the correct direction?

Thanks

5 Replies
Added a start-transcript c:\temp\log.txt to the script, this is the logging when running from a Scheduled Task:

Host Application: C:\WINDOWS\System32\WindowsPowerShell\v1.0\powershell.exe c:\temp\test.ps1
Process ID: 25868
PSVersion: 5.1.22000.588
PSEdition: Desktop
PSCompatibleVersions: 1.0, 2.0, 3.0, 4.0, 5.0, 5.1.22000.588
BuildVersion: 10.0.22000.588
CLRVersion: 4.0.30319.42000
WSManStackVersion: 3.0
PSRemotingProtocolVersion: 2.3
SerializationVersion: 1.1.0.1
Transcript started, output file is c:\temp\log.txt

GAC Version Location
--- ------- --------