SOLVED

The term '...' is not recognized as the name of a cmdlet

Brass Contributor

Hi,

I am new to PowerShell. I am running on Win7 and I have the following module installed.

cllee_0-1590310474113.png

I constantly hit with  error: The term '...' is not recognized as the name of a cmdlet, function,....

I tried google around for solutions and there is a lot of articles, but only keeps throwing more error after error. Is there anyway to verify what is missing?

Can anyone point me to the right direction, any step-by-step guide? Like what needs to be installed first, or how to install guide? Or how to check what is still required?

Thanks.

18 Replies

@cllee :smile:

Hi, what are you trying to do it PowerShell please?  There are any number of modules you may need.  It would help if you could explain what you want to achieve and then we can try and advise you.  :smile:

Hi @PeterRising 

I would like to run some commands to extract some data. A couple of it will be Get-ADUser and Get-MsolUser

Thanks.

best response confirmed by cllee (Brass Contributor)
Solution

@cllee 

OK, please try the following commands in PowerShell;

Install-Module MSOnline

then,

Import-Module MSOnline

then try to connect to the MS Online service by entering;

Connect-MsolService

You should be prompted now for your M365 Global Admin credentials.  Login and you can run the Get-MsolUser commands.

In order to execute the Get-ADUser commands, try running Import-Module activedirectory

Hi @PeterRising 

Hit error on first command :

cllee_0-1590319634443.png

@cllee 

Sounds like you may be behind a proxy server? If so, please try the following commands in PowerShell;

$webclient=New-Object System.Net.WebClient
$webclient.Proxy.Credentials = [System.Net.CredentialCache]::DefaultNetworkCredentials

Then try the commands again.  Alternatively, can you break straight out to the internet and bypass your proxy server? 

@PeterRising