Script to add an AD Security group to multiple User Home drive folders

Copper Contributor

Hi All

I'm trying to put together a script to perform the following task:

First to add an AD Security Group named "ADMigration" and assign it (Read access) to a large list of User Home Drives (folders).  

I have a master user list with the home drive location/path and would like to leverage the list to apply the new permissions to the ACL of each user home folders.

I have been reading so many articles on assigning permission using Set-ACL, Get-ACL and modules like ADD-NTFDAccess etc, but have now got to the point where I'm confusing myself.

Could I please ask one of you clever scripting people to possibly assist me with a script to accomplish this or at least point me in the best direction or way of achieving the above?

Would really appreciate all your input and really appreciate any suggestions.

Many thanks

Nitrox

5 Replies

@Nitrox 

If you're still looking to solve this, hopefully this will get you started. The Set-ACL syntax you want will be something like:

$HomeFolderPath="X:\Path\To\Home\Folder"
#Get Existing Permissions
$NewAcl=Get-Acl -Path $HomeFolderPath
# Set properties
$identity = "ADMigration"
$fileSystemRights = "Read"
$type = "Allow"
# Create new rule
$fileSystemAccessRuleArgumentList = $identity, $fileSystemRights, $type
$fileSystemAccessRule = New-Object -TypeName System.Security.AccessControl.FileSystemAccessRule -ArgumentList $fileSystemAccessRuleArgumentList
# Apply new rule
$NewAcl.SetAccessRule($fileSystemAccessRule)
Set-Acl -Path $HomeFolderPath -AclObject $NewAcl

If this works for you, the next step would be to wrap it up in a loop, reading the Home Drive paths from your list.

@Nitrox 

# Set the name of the AD security group to create
$GroupName = "ADMigration"

# Create the new AD security group
New-ADGroup -Name $GroupName -GroupScope Global -GroupCategory Security

# Set the list of home drive folders to modify
$HomeDriveList = @(