SOLVED

Rename files to get the year, month and day of the creation in front of the file?

Copper Contributor

Hi all, I am a trainee and need to make some changes to the file naming convention.

There are tens of thousands of files in the filesystem and it would be a long day to do it all manually.

So my question is how to make it possible with a script to automate this process.

It would be nice to run the script into the start folder or select the start point and from there go downwards into all folders to get the name and creation date of a file that does not match the naming convention mentioned.

So that any file e.g. "logo.png" or "hello.world_2021.pdf" which was created on 05/05/2021 will look like "20210505_logo.png" and "05052021_hello.world_2021.pdf" afterwards.

And any file that contains the year, month and day at the beginning should be ignored.

Thanks for the help.

8 Replies

@pspBugs 

It isn't difficult to add a date-based prefix, but you've provided two different formats in your example below (yyyyMMdd_ and ddMMyyyy_.) Which is your preference?

And are you sure you want the creation date, not the last modified date?

Cheers,

Lain

best response confirmed by pspBugs (Copper Contributor)
Solution

@pspBugs 

Here's a three-line example on how you can do this. I've gone with the assumptions that:

1. The prefix date format should be "yyyyMMdd_";
  2. You do indeed want the creation date used in the prefix, not the last modified date.
$ParsedDate = [datetime]::MinValue;
$Path = "D:\Data\SomePath";
Get-ChildItem -File -Path $Path -Recurse |
    Where-Object { (-not [regex]::IsMatch($_.Name, "^\d{8}_", [System.Text.RegularExpressions.RegexOptions]::IgnoreCase)) -or (-not [datetime]::TryParseExact($_.Name.Substring(0, 8), "yyyyMMdd", [cultureinfo]::CurrentCulture, [System.Globalization.DateTimeStyles]::None, [ref] $ParsedDate)) } |