SOLVED

PowersShell script to install a msi with custom parameters

Copper Contributor

Hi !

It's my first post in the community hoping to find a solution for this. I am using a script to install an msi that is being pulled from a cloud download location and using powershell to parse the parameters while installing the msi. I'm using the following script. It downloads the msi successfully but when trying to run the install will show the Windows Installer windows. Are the brackets i've set correct? I'm relatively new to PowerShell so any help is highly appreciated!

Thank you,

#file to download

$DownloadURL ="https://cdn-104.anonfiles.xxxmsi"
#location to save on the computer. Path must exist or it will error
$DOwnloadPath = "C:\Okta\xxxxx.msi"

#for
$ArgumentsMSI ='/I' + '" ' + "$DOwnloadPath" + '" " ' + ' SITEURL=xxx SELECTED_xx_ENVIRONMENT=xxxcom ADMIN_xx_EDITBOX_VALUE=xxx;IS_ENCRYPTED=0 LOGOFILE=xxx SSPR_URL=xxx SSO_ENABLED=0 PASSWORD_SYNC_ENABLED=1 TECUNIFY_CHECKBOX_STATE=0 UPS_ENABLED=0 UTM_ENABLED=0 LOCALUSER=1 DOMAINUSER=1 MICROSOFTUSER=1 AZUREUSER=1 PKPENABLE=xx OFFLINE_ENABLED=1 FAILOPEN=0 OFFLINE_MAX_TRIES_LIMIT=5 SELECTED_UAC_OPTION=1 CONTACT_INFO= xxx

$MSI = 'true'

#downloads the file from the URL
wget $DownloadURL -outfile $DOwnloadPath

if($MSI -eq 'true')
{
#Install MSI
Write-Host $ArgumentsMSI
write-host "Starting Install"
Start-Process -FilePath "msiexec.exe" -Wait -ArgumentList $ArgumentsMSI

}

exit 0

Beu52265_0-1641507377211.png

5 Replies
best response confirmed by Beu5-2265 (Copper Contributor)
Solution

Regardless of method to generate the space delimited string of parameters, output the string to see that it is what you want. I'd step back and do something like this first, read the output string carefully. I took a stab at shuffling some single, doublequote, and spaces, and pulled out one semicolon but don't know if that is right. Also added /qn for Quiet, No GUI.