Parameterizing in a PowerShell Script

Copper Contributor

I am new to PowerShell and I am at a loss.  Working with Idera I have put together this script

#To place the Instance in Maintenance Mode

#To enable the SQLDM provider, type the following within PowerShell

add-pssnapin sqldmsnapin

#To verify the snapin is registered

get-psprovider

#To register the SQLdm drive, type the following within PowerShell. AAAAAAA000000\DEV01 is the instance where the Repository Database sits

#Need to know what Repository instance the instance is registered on

#Currently in Production there are 5:  BBBBBBB000000\prod01, CCCCCCC000000\prod01, DDDDDDD000000\prod01, EEEEEEE000000\prod01, FFFFFFF000000\prod01

New-SQLdmDrive dm AAAAAAA000000\DEV01 SQLdmRepository

#Change to the dm drive

cd dm:\

#Sets maintenance mode to Until further notice. Schedule collection will not occur.  ZZZZZZZ999999\DEV01 is the instance to be placed on maintenance mode.

Set-SQLdmMonitoredInstance -Path (Escape-SQLdmName -Name ZZZZZZZ999999\DEV01) -MMAlways

I need to parameterize where the values AAAAAAA000000\DEV01 and ZZZZZZZ999999\DEV01 are.  Can someone provide me with a web page that shows an example.  They want me to save this as a ps1 file and then call it passing in the two parameters.

4 Replies

@LauraC100 

Hi, Laura.

Here's some relevant articles on parameters:

And here's a basic stub showing how to declare parameters.

[cmdletbinding()]
param(
    [parameter()][string]$MyParam1
    , [parameter()][int]$MyParam2
    , [parameter()][bool]$MyParam3
    , [parameter()][switch]$MyParam4
)

# Do stuff with said parameters.

Cheers,

Lain

Hi

Maybe this powershell module can make your life easier.
Check this out.

https://dbatools.io/download/
https://dbatools.io/commands/
This is the code that I put together. I hope this is ok. A lot of information. Many ways to do it.

$RepositoryDatabaseInstance=$args[0]
$MaintenanceModeInstance=$args[1]