quick assist deployment thru Powershell-GPO

Copper Contributor

Since that Microsoft is turned with quick assist to the Windows Store we cannot use Quick assist anymore. I cannot install  / deploy it thru Powershell whatever i try thru GPO, manual, scheduled task etc, it will not work. The only way that the install succeeds is when go to the Store and download and install it when i am an admin. But i want to deploy Quick Assist thru Powershell...

What i tried:

#sets switches

param

(

[Parameter(Mandatory=$false)][Switch]$Install,

[Parameter(Mandatory=$false)][Switch]$Uninstall,

[Parameter(ValueFromRemainingArguments=$true)] $args

)

#Log output results

function LogOutput($Message) {

$LogFile = "C:\temp\Quick-Assist.log"

"$(get-date -Format 'MM/dd/yyyy HH:mm') $($Message)" | Out-file -FilePath $LogFile -Append -Force

}

#Start of Script

If ($Install){

Try {

LogOutput "***This script is used to install the new Quick Assist app that is from the Microsoft Store. It will also remove the old version***"

$InstallAppX = Get-AppxPackage -allusers MicrosoftCorporationII.QuickAssist

If ($InstallAppX.status -eq 'OK'){

LogOutput "[Info] Windows Store version of Quick Assist is already installed"

#lets uninstall the old version.

LogOutput "[Info] lets uninstall the old version"

Remove-WindowsCapability -Online -Name 'App.Support.QuickAssist~~~~0.0.1.0' -ErrorAction 'SilentlyContinue'

LogOutput "[Info] Old version of Quick Assist has been uninstalled"

}

If ($InstallAppX.status -ne 'OK'){

LogOutput "[Info] Installing the Windows Store version of Quick Assist..."

Add-AppxPackage -Path "c:\quickassist\MicrosoftCorporationII.QuickAssist.AppxBundle"

#Add-AppxProvisionedPackage -online -SkipLicense -PackagePath '.\MicrosoftCorporationII.QuickAssist.AppxBundle'

LogOutput "[Info] Attempting to remove the old version of Quick Assist..."

Remove-WindowsCapability -Online -Name 'App.Support.QuickAssist~~~~0.0.1.0' -ErrorAction 'SilentlyContinue'

}