Windows update error 0x800f081f

Copper Contributor

Hi, so I haven't been able to update my laptop the past 2 months I would say, because of that error code. I am Trying to install 2021-10 Cumulative Update Preview for Windows 10 Version 21H1 for x64-based Systems (KB5006738), and it gets to "Status: Installing - 100%" and then it sits there for about 10-15 minutes which then it gives me the error. Also it says "Your device is missing important security and quality fixes." In red. 

My Windows Spec: 

Edition: Windows 10 Home

Version: 21H1

OS Build: 19043.1151

Experience: Windows Feature Experience Pack 120.2212.3530.0

I have already looked everywhere on here, and I came across a different post, and someone had mentioned like 3 different things to try, which I tried all 3 and still did not work.  I've also looked it up on google, and tried a few things people mention there. But still no luck.

Also this is my first time posting here, so I apologize if I did something wrong. 

14 Replies

@JeffyEpstein 

I have the same problem: 2021-10 Cumulative Update Preview for Windows 10 Version 21H1 for x64-based Systems (KB5006738)

We couldn't install this update, but you can try again. (ox80070026.

Is there any point?

I may reinstall windows, but I'm not sure if I can keep most of my programs that I already have installed. If I'm not able to, I guess I'm SoL @DaveO1110 

@JeffyEpstein  Hi

Start fresh with a clean installation of Windows 10 (microsoft.com)

Unfortunately, a clean installation removes everything and reinstalls the system!

Have you tried downloading the update assistant?

https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/software-download/windows10

If you click update now your files and applications will remain on the disk.

Best regards

I just tried, and it says "Congratulations you have updated Windows 10"
But then i go to my settings and go to update windows, and it still shows I have same update I have been trouble trying to install.
And did you perform a reboot?