How can I install Windows 11 from USB flash drive?

Copper Contributor

Hi all,

I was gifted an used PC without OS on it. I want to install Windows 11 on it and I was told I can do it from a USB flash drive. I am a new tech newbie and don't know how to do this.

I've already downloaded the Windows 11 ISO file, but I need guidance on how to properly create a Windows 11 bootable USB drive and proceed with the installation.  If anyone has gone through this process and can share a detailed, step-by-step guide to help me install Windows 11 from USB flash drive, I would greatly appreciate it.

16 Replies

First, make a bootable USB with Win-Boot-Mate app. It will create two boot options (BIOS and UEFI). This means you can install Windows 11 on old and modern computers. it can also help you bypass the Windows 11 system requirements. Here is the simple guide:

https://www.tekgit.com/create-windows-11-bootable-usb

win11-bypass.jpg

After that, boot your PC from USB and follow the prompt to install Windows 11 from the USB flash drive

usb boot option bios uefi.png

@Esteville To install Windows 11 from a USB flash drive, start by creating a bootable USB drive. Download the Windows 11 ISO file from the official Microsoft website, and use a tool like Windows Media Creation Tool to transfer the ISO to your USB drive. Ensure the USB drive has at least 8 GB of storage space. 

Next, insert the bootable USB drive into the computer where you want to install Windows 11. Restart the computer and enter the BIOS/UEFI settings by pressing a key like F2, F12, Delete, or Esc during the startup process. In the BIOS/UEFI settings, change the boot order to prioritize the USB drive and save the changes. The computer will then restart and boot from the USB drive.