Fix 0xc1900101 DPC_WATCHDOG_VIOLATION GSOD

Copper Contributor
Hello everyone!

Recently for the past few release previews, after updating sometimes you might get interrupted by a GSOD. I've got a lot of experience with these... And they're the worst. But this one in particular bugs be a lot, because many deal with it. So I wanted to share my confirmed fix, that I worked on with another Insider.

This works for the 0xc1900101 DPC_WATCHDOG_VIOLATION error.

Step 1. Uninstall previous release preview. DO NOT restart.
Step 2. Do a disk cleanup, clean system file, remove previous versions.
Step 3. Delete C:/WINDOWS/SoftwareDistribution (it will be D:/WINDOWS/SoftwareDistribution on some systems)
Step 4. Now you should be able to install the update without any issues.

*For optimal use after the update, don't forget to do a disk cleanup after to remove the previous stuff left over!

Hope this can help someone out!
11 Replies

@Angelina2552 

Thank you for sharing, there is article discussing about Blue Screen error:

https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/sbs/windows/troubleshoot-blue-screen-errors-5c62726c-6489-52da-a... 

In case you enable Microsoft to collect log, dump files will be shared with Microsoft and user could also share the issue through Feedback Hub app.

Thanks Reza! I'll put something about this there.
Alright. That's strange to hear since when I did the update last night I got the DPC_WATCHDOG_VIOLATION GSOD during the update.
There is a BSOD/GSOD crash dump analyzer called WhoCrashed,
that might come handy if you want to find out more about the cause of it