can't download Preview Builds and/or register with Window Insider Program...very confused

Copper Contributor

Hi there.

I just got a brand new Acer i5 machine.  Started coding bootcamp this week and I'm trying to get registered in Windows Insider Program to download the latest Preview Build so I can then download WSL.  I was very excited to do so but I get an endless spiral loop after I identify my Microsoft Account.  It's failed numerous times or just locks up all together.  Everything else works fine. It's my first time returning to Windows in 15 years and up until now I've been loving it. Thanks in advance for any assistance. Stay safe all!

8 Replies
Hello,
which version and build of Windows 10 are you using now? is it the latest?
you can view it by going to the setting => System => about

@HotCakeX 

Hello.  Yes, I updated Windows prior to trying to join WIP. I'm running Windows 10 Version 1809 OS Build 17763.1158

@soverylarry 

Well that is more than 1 year old..the latest one is 1909 which was released 6-7 months ago

if you don't see any new updates in Windows update, after checking manually for updates, then use this link to download the installer (ISO) and run it inside OS to do an in-place upgrade, once it's done, you can join Windows insider.

https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/software-download/windows10

Or you can download Windows insider ISO files and install them directly (I wouldn't recommend doing it over an old version of Windows 10 1809) but fresh install it, which requires formatting your C drive.

https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/software-download/windowsinsiderpreviewadvanced

@HotCakeXyou're a genius!  That worked great.  Like a young Elvis, you rock!  And now I'll go and see if I can get Windows Subsystem for Linux installed as well.  But this had been driving me mad. I'll mention how great it is to use the forums in my coding camp class tonight.  Thanks again! 

@soverylarry 

Thank you, I'm glad to know it's fixed :)