WDS MDT Debugging seems a nightmare - Is it supposed to be that hard or do I lack experience?

Brass Contributor

I am new to WDS, MDT in a company.

I created deployment shares and debugging them was very hard without asking the senior guys.

Is there a best practice, especiallz on finding out which part are missing in Bootstrap.ini, unattanded.xml, task sequence, rights management.

Also linking deployment shares gave me strange effect, so that the cloned deployment share did not work, because it did not copy everything.

WDS Deployment would sometimes not start because I used the wrong install.wim to build my image, after setting some variable to false, it then used the WDS servers local wim and things suddenly worked. These seem all strange effects and it seems a hard task to find such errors without experience.

Please provide me with debugging resources and advice for deployment without the SCCM, because we can not afford that for out 4000+ machines.

Thank you.

Kind regards.

Christian

5 Replies

That's a rather broad question :)  We do provide a lot of docs to help at https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/windows/deployment/index, including step-by-step guidance.  The forums here, as well as mailing lists hosted by MyITForum.com on MDT and OSD, can help too.

Yes, I read all of that, but the most interesting bit is missing - DEBUGGING. And debugging WDS is really hard, as the deploy just fails and one has no idea why, when for example the DeploymentShare did not have the right permissions or there the deployent share path was using the netbios name instead of the FQAN. No component told me that, I just had to find out by myself. This really kills productivity, as you can imagine that this search is not trivial, especially as a newbe.

I especially read this bit:

https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/windows/deployment/deploy-windows-mdt/deploy-windows-10-with-the-mi...