Tech Community Live: Windows edition
Jun 05 2024, 07:30 AM - 11:30 AM (PDT)
Microsoft Tech Community

Issues with keyboard customization and hotkeys

Copper Contributor

Hello! I have been working on computers running Windows for 33 years and have been using computers with macOS at home for the last 10 years. I noticed a good trend in the latest versions of Windows
- finalize the aesthetic component of the interface (single style, dark theme support, rounded corners, etc.), but still I find a lot of flaws and problems. But I want to write a separate post about this. And now about the keyboard and hot keys...

I am very grateful that you made the Keyboard Manager utility as part of Power Toys, and thanks to it I was able to swap the control keys in places, like on an Apple keyboard, where it is more convenient for me to use abbreviations like "command + c". But it turned out that with the help of this utility it is impossible to change the hotkey "win + c" to another combination in order to call the "Clipboard history". Another problem showed up when I logged into my work computer via Remote Desktop. Since I swapped the "alt" and "ctrl" keys, they also swapped on my Apple keyboard. Therefore, I have to disable the Keyboard Manager when working through Remote Desktop. But in this case "Clipboard history" is not available! And I have to call it through the virtual keyboard. Another way to solve this problem is to change the key remapping settings in Keyboard Manager to ctrl(left)->win(left), win(left)->ctrl(left) and at the same time turn off the "Use Mac shortcuts" option in the Remote Desktop settings. In this case, Clipboard History becomes available by pressing "ctrl + v". But it is difficult to change the Keyboard Manager settings every time when working remotely.