SOLVED

Why wasn't Microsoft still serious about Windows 10 security or social hacking?

Brass Contributor

I know there is a command on Windows 10 that can obtain the password of the specified wifi SSID like this:

netsh wlan show profiles

Now say I am an administrator of a computer and home network. My computer is logged in with my username. 

Now, all a person has to do is sit on my chair and right-click on Command Prompt and choose Run as administrator. Execute the above command.

Didn't Microsoft think about the repercussion of doing this?

On the Linux machine, if you want to access sensitive information like these your username and password are not enough. You have to enter su or superuser password.

My question is: after Windows XP which had several vulnerable ports wide open why wasn't Microsoft become more careful for Windows 10 about security or social hacking?

3 Replies
best response confirmed by Adrian1595 (Brass Contributor)
Solution
Hi,
I think there has been a misunderstanding there.

Linux needs "SU" command, yes, because it is used to switch from normal user to Root user (the equivalent of Administrator on Windows).
if you use the Linux as Root user, you won't need "SU" command anymore and accessing sensitive information on your Linux won't ask you for any passwords.

it's the same on Windows. if you log in as a normal user, you WILL be asked for Administrator (the equivalent of root in Linux that needs SU command). but if you are logged in as Administrator in the first place, you won't be asked for Administrator password again.

Linux and Windows work the same way in this case.