Universal Print Billing, and Education customers

Copper Contributor

I've been using Microsoft active directory for the last 12 years, and Novell eDir for 10 years before that.

This year I have been working towards a clean break change to Azure AD / M365 Education A3. Everything has been going smoothly, until the issue of printing comes up.

The administration staff explode at me. It's going to cost us to print now? It's been free forever and now suddenly Microsoft wants to gouge our eyeballs out over printing?

The pay in advance bulk pricing is especially grating because as a school district we have no way to predict what the month to month costs will be, as staff work through their curriculum programs for the year.

Apparently we are going to be forced to pay year round for a peak job event that occurs maybe once a month for the entire year.

And then when our summer vacation arrives for June, July, and August, suddenly the staff and student combined print volume drops to near zero, but we're still going to be forking out for potentially hundreds to thousands of jobs per month that won't be used.

Why can't Microsoft just bill customers for the exact amount of print jobs per month? Is that somehow too hard for Microsoft programmers to implement?

People are demanding that I provide a way to continue using onsite local printing at no cost. Well okay.... I guess it's possible.....

Um let's see, domain controller, Azure AD Connect, set up local print server queues in Print Management, push the drivers via an Intune application install package, and then create the domain server print queue share paths via a Powershell script in the Intune application package, since no such functionality is provided in Intune.

This will be a challenge, almost as if Microsoft is trying to coax us in the direction of paying for something we never had to pay for before, by removing or just not providing built-in support for connecting local print shares natively in InTune...