Receiving notifications from universal print without firewall changes. Websocket ?

Copper Contributor

Hello All,

I am new to universal print and I am trying to receive notifications when a print job is submitted by the user. So far, I have registered the virtual printer and defined the task definitions and task triggers. I also found out how to subscribe to the change notifications and the way I understand it is, the universal print service, using MS Graph API would send the notifications to the web app in the following scenarios -

1. Initial test notification for validation purposes when the web app subscribes for the notifications for the first time.

2. When the registered task is triggered like the jobStarted event.

Now the challenge I am facing is as follows - 

The web app receiving the notifications precisely the notificationUrl is beyond the firewall and I can't open the ports on the firewall to allow the outside requests.

So is there a way to receive universal print change notifications from MS Graph without changing the firewall settings ? Does universal print send notifications over websockets or is there another way to do this ? 

Any suggestions on this would be highly appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

6 Replies

@HimanJo the job notification subscription is a callback model so the URL needs to be reachable by the cloud service.

Are you able to look into hosting your application in the cloud?

Or, have a proxy that re-routes the incoming internet traffic into the local network so you only have to open port 443 or 80 which have well known methods for security lockdown/packet inspection.

HTH,

Jimmy

@Jimmy_Wu Thank you so much for responding. However, I won't be able to host the application in the cloud nor have an intermediate proxy. This application is supposed to run on the printer which is beyond the firewall.

The problem that I am trying to solve is -