SOLVED

Just one of our Teams can't show or hide channels

Brass Contributor

Good day!
Some coworkers have a team with about 50 channels where no one can show or hide any of the channels. I did a little troubleshooting on this already but I just can't figure out anything to make it work.

The error message is "Couldn't show [channel name]. Try again."

Jack_Eidsmsness_0-1605724587007.png

This happens in the web client and app alike. It happens for everyone who tries to show any of the channels. When I try to hide a channel that was shown before, it will literally be hidden, but it still shows an error message saying that it couldn't hide the channel. Those are the only ones I can then "show" again, but I think it was not saving the setting to hide it in the first place. I assume if I quit and started again, it would not be hidden.

Because I'm also a web developer, I got some more info from the browser developer console.
I can see a little bit more error information in the server's JSON response:

{"errorCode":201,"message":"User is no longer in thread roster."}

That is the message body of a failed PUT to

https
   ng.msg.gcc.teams.microsoft.com

/v1/users/ME/conversations/{channel-id}/properties?name=favorite&requirePermanentJoinedState=true

I broke up that URL and replaced the literal channel id with {channel-id} because I know it wouldn't be the clickable kind, anyway. I grabbed it from the Network tab of the developer console. The HTTP status of the reply was 400.

The user experience is that it just says it failed and to try again, like in the screen cap.