SOLVED

Guest access to personal apps/tabs

Brass Contributor

As an administrator I can install and pin default personal tabs for all users in my tenant.
I hoped I could pin a custom personal app for guests as well, but these dont show up.
So I searched for some information whether this is possible or not. It's clear that guests can not add and install apps on their own, but I found no clear information if  it is possible for the admin to add apps for the guests.

I found this comparison of tenant members and guests in Teams, but it only mentions that Guests can't add tabs on their own, but nothing about using apps someone else has added.
https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/microsoftteams/guest-experience#comparison-of-team-member-and-guest...
Then I found was this site in the docs, but I just don't understand what it's trying to say. So I hope someone could clarify this and explain to me in simple words what is possible and what not regarding custom apps for guest users.
Teams apps behavior for non-standard users - Microsoft Teams | Microsoft Docs
There it says:

Guests can't install, update, or delete apps into a shared context, such as a chat, channel, or meeting, but they can to their personal scope using message extensions and direct links.

---So what does "their personal scope" mean and what kind of direct links? Links to what?

Guests don't have access to the Teams app store from the Teams desktop application, ...

---If the docs explicitly mentions "don't have access...from the Teams desktop application" then shouldnt it be different in the webapp or on mobile? 
...but they can access it with a direct link.

---and again: What direct link? And what can they actually do with the link?

And last but not least, my general question:
What kind of apps can be made accessible to and used with guest users in Teams?

8 Replies

@ArneDD : We are looking into this issue, we will get back to you soon

Thanks

Are there any updates?