Vertical results from multiple columns

Copper Contributor

Hello all,

I am very new to SQL and I don't have so much experience. I am trying to help with a report and I am trying to gather results from 3 columns and stack it vertically. This is the query I have. I simplified it a bit for demo.

Binarak_0-1661473399265.png

Results

Binarak_2-1661473104734.png

What I am trying to get an output of something like this...

Study IDB10Value

Study1B10-1123
Study1B10-2234
Study1B10-3345
Study2B25-1147

If you guys can give me a hand I'd really appreciate it. I've been thinking of "Union", "Pivot" but I am not sure to how to apply for this scenario.

Please help!

Thank you all!

5 Replies

@Binarak , I can't see anything in that screenshot in micro-format, but I guess you are looking for the UNPIVOT command, see

Using PIVOT and UNPIVOT - SQL Server | Microsoft Docs

For a more detailed answer please post table design as DDL, some sample data as DML statement and the expected result.

Olaf

@olafhelper 

Hello good sir. Thank you so much for taking time to respond. I thought that the screenshot might be too small. I wasn't sure how to give a clear view. Ill give you a better picture. 

Thank you so much.

Hi @Binarak 

First, welcome to the family of SQL Server users Ronen_Ariely_0-1652869736515.png

Even if the image is big and we can read the content, it is still an image and not queries - text which we can copy->test->fix...

What do you think will be simpler and faster. Option one: each one of the 100 people that come to the forum to help others instead of helping 10 people, will spend all his time to manually check the image -> type the query. Or maybe option two: one person who asked the question and has all the information will simply provide the query instead images?!?

Please provide: 

1) Queries to CREATE your table(s)
2) Queries to INSERT sample data.
3) The desired result given the sample.
4) A short description of the business rules.