What SharePoint library columns might be recognized as columns (details/fields) in File Explorer?

Copper Contributor

Bear in mind, I'm no expert...

What SharePoint library columns might be recognized as columns (details/fields) in File Explorer for Windows 10?  I've found that if I set up a Single Line of Text column in Office365 SharePoint Online called "Subject", that content is picked up in the "Subject" column in File Explorer for Windows 10. That is very useful since I can now use my SharePoint metadata for easy filtering and sorting within File Explorer of my synced OneDirve for Business/SharePoint libraries.  Do any of you know of other column fields in File Explorer and SharePoint that can be co-opted in this way?

17 Replies

That would be amazing if that is possible. Being able to sync and change the meta data directly in file explorer or even filter/search by the meta data in windows would be huge. I am going to have a play with it and see whats possible. 

Note: if you right click on the column header Subject is already there, so maybe it just matches it up. Hmmm.

Thanks Stephen.  I've explored a little more.  It is only Office Documents and not pdfs, so it isn't as useful as I thought.  If I change the Subject in Properties in the Office document, it shows up in SharePoint and File Explorer and vice versa but I couldn't get that behavior if I tried the same trick with fields such as Status, Categories, Hyperlink Base, or Company; just Subject.

Hi @Don Doering

The behavior you are seeing is related to Document Property Promotion and Demotion.

We have already discussed it in other threads.

For more details, see https://blogs.technet.microsoft.com/wbaer/2014/08/29/document-property-promotion-and-demotion-overvi...

Thanks, Salvatore.  I kind of understand. As I wrote, I'm no expert.  My simple question was are there some other fields like Subject that are likely to work this way?