Want to open a form from a link in a freely-selected place (not from the link within a list)

Copper Contributor

I am trying to create the process described below:

Question About Forms.png

1. The user clicks a specific link placed in a page or subsite (I'm using SPS2013)

2. Clicking the link opens up a form (doesn't have to be an InfoPath form, if there are easier or better options it will be great to know them)

3. The user fills the form and at the end clicks a specific button (save or send or something like that)

4. Then, the form closes, the data input in the form goes to a custom list within the same SPS2013 site, and an e-mail is sent to the predetermined people. That's all.

I hope my question is clear.

I am fairly new to SharePoint and any guidance will be truly appreciated. Especially if it is an easy to implement alternative.

Thanks

Jim

4 Replies
Are you asking how to achieve this of if this is something possible to achieve? Of course, you can do this in SP 2013, but the question here is if you want to make it with almost no development or development is possible here

You can embed a link on the home page with an image to open up the New form for out of the box List.

You can customize the form using stratus forms which is free to use and works well. There is an alert on the List to let the specified users get an email when new items are added.
The All Employees Security Group can be given Contribute rights to this List to allow them to
submit  requests.

When users click on image use helper javascript files like sjh.js to open the form as a modal popup for users to submit requests