SOLVED

Upload without view

Brass Contributor
We have a need for uploading confidential files from external users (guests) to a central location. They should not be able to view the files uploaded by other users, i.e., only the owner (uploader) would have view permission on their files. This is easy to do in DropBox, but we don't know if it can be done in SharePoint. Can it and, if so, how can it be done?
11 Replies
We have a DropOff library in SharePoint and a rule can be written in to move the uploaded document to desired library. Alternatively, we can create view with filter set as created by is equal [ME] to avoid users to see other’s content.
That's great, Nitesh. I'm new to SharePoint. Can you describe these in more detail or point me to a source of information? Thanks very much for your response.
This method isn’t easy and requires everyone to have an account and access to your SharePoint. It’s nothing like Dropbox where you just toss out a link and collect data. OneDrive announced at SPC that they will be launching the same functionality in the near future but that won’t do you any good now

Depending how many people you have you can use the above method but you’ll have to get them all invited to your site etc. and it’s security by obscurity.

I would recommend item level security. But again everyone will have to be invited to your SharePoint site a certain way since I think this might only work with lists.

Anyway here that is. https://sharepointmaven.com/how-to-enable-item-level-permissions-in-sharepoint/

How many people would need to be uploading?
Be carefull with item level permissions in SharePoint, there is a limit of 5000 unique permissions per document library