Trying to Set Up an Office Reservation System

Copper Contributor

With my company starting to return to the office they are looking for some kind of way to see how many people are going to be in the office on a particular day. I was thinking of using a Sharepoint/Lists calendar that people can enter when they are going to be in the office. I was thinking individual departments could have their own calendar where they can see names and those would feed to a company wide calendar that would show the number of people from each department. I can't wrap my head around how I would be able to calculate how many people would be in the office on particular days. I'm sure there's a way but I am a total noobie with this stuff. HELLLPP!

2 Replies

@jackrum we're in the same situation across multiple offices so I have built a system very similar to what you want to do and our staff book a desk for a day at the office they are going to be in. It is based on the videos by April Dunnam shown at the bottom of this post.

I've also used Power Apps as the front end and the backend in SharePoint has 2 lists, 1 for desks and 1 for the reservations.

The desks list has the location, title of each desk and whether it is active or not:
0-SP-DesksList.png

The columns I've got in Reservations list are as follows:
0-SP-ReservationsList-Columns.png

The app in Power Apps looks like this. The user doesn't have to enter their name or email address as that is picked up automatically from their Office 365 details: the On Start function of the app sets the Current User variable using Set(currentUser,User())

1-App-Dashboard.png

2-App-Calendar.png