The dark side of SP O365 Group Sites.

Copper Contributor

When I’m dealing with Modern Sites and Group sites I'm feeling like beta tester on development environment.  Before you start using Office365 (SharePoint) group sites makes sure that you know what are you doing. You can end up badly without testing, and without some restrictions for your power users.

First test was to create SP group site with name Intranet, via OWA and this test failed. I’ve been able to create Group Site with name which already exist in our SharePoint environment as a standard SharePoint subsite. I end up with error "Sorry, something went wrong".

Second test was to create SharePoint subsite group site from new Landing Page _layouts/15/sharepoint.aspx. As a SharePoint admin I would like to warn you do not use it J On first screen “Let's create a team site and group - Team site name” if you type Group site name and click Next you do not even know but you just created new group and you do not have chance to go back any change it. You do not even need to click on Finish button J This button just redirect you to newly created site. This generates subsites which you might not need. This is not the end. You users might create tons of such entries via Outlook client or OWA. You think that’s the end of issues? No ;-] Group site created in this way may include group mailbox address with some random numbers in it which do not looks good. All of this is nothing :-] Real dark side of group sites is that you might lost your group data if you delete it accidently. There is no backup procedure, and id you are not lucky enough you can also lost you data if you are to fast with power shell Remove-SPOSite and Remove-SPODeletedSit.

The best option is to use Admin Portal to create Group sites but my must have Global Admin rights to use it.