Taking over our Sharepoint and overwhelmed. Where to start?

Copper Contributor

So I am taking over our SharePoint site that was setup before me and I have no experience with SharePoint. I've been watching YouTube videos to try and figure it out. I almost want to just start over so I can figure out the setup. Any advice on where to start? I am not sure how the person who set this up initially did it so I can't even understand the structure of our site. It appears to be 2 Sites and a bunch of subsites if that makes any sense. When I watch youtube videos the URLs always seems to be somthing.sharepoint.com/site/something while ours starts with something.sharepoint.com as the main landing page. Also they are always showing the number or members in the top right and none of my pages have that. Any advice on where to start to clean up our structure, and get permissions in order would be greatly appreciated!

7 Replies
Hi @Skrutsch,

I can imagine you are overwhelmed by SharePoint, as I felt and still feel the same. Unfortunately, you will not get a lot of help here and Microsoft leaves beginners completely alone with the challenge to get to know Sharepoint.

A source I use to learn Sharepoint, is Udemy.com offering affordable courses for SharePoint that I am currently following and I find quite helpful, like "Beginning SharePoint 2013/ 2016 /Online (part of Office 365)" and "SharePoint Online Beginners Course".

On YouTube I follow e.g. "Kevin Stratvert" and "SharePoint in 60 Seconds" for more information regarding SharePoint.

The idea behind SharePoint is good, but the Microsoft made SharePoint very complicated to use and set up. Nevertheless, let me know if I can be of any further help.

Best regards,
Thomas

@Skrutsch the number of members will only appear if the  it's a site created by a SharePoint Group. Don't worry about, for normal sites you won't see that.