Stuck in Classic Mode

Brass Contributor

Hello,

I am seeing where some users are stuck in a Classic View for a list I am testing with. If I am logged into SP and viewing this list as myself, or TestUser1, it is in Modern View as expected, but if I log in as TestUser2 or TestUser3, they can only view the list in Classic View. I see the link to "Exit Classic" but it doesn't do anything. As an Admin, I verified in List Settings > Advanced Settings that the List Experience is set to New Experience.

There is a custom form in use but when I try to edit the item as either TestUser2 or TestUser3, I receive an error when attempting to save changes to the form ("The server was unable to save the form. Please try again later"):

server-error.jpg

In the O365 Admin console, I compared TestUser2/TestUser3 to myself and TestUser1 and am not finding a difference in our user setups for this to be happening.

What am I missing?

Thank you in advance for your help.
M

20 Replies
Hi,
Please check the 'Advanced Settings' in the 'List Settings' page, in the advanced settings check the last setting named 'Display this list using the new or classic experience?' and make sure you select the 'New Experience' which will be available to all the users. Also check whether the site contents of the test users are displaying in Modern or classic view, if it is in classic view you can always exit the classic view by clicking the 'Exit classic view mode' link on the left bottom below the left nav section.

Hi, @Sudharsan K -

Thank you for the response. I verified that the New Experience option is selected within Advanced settings. I also logged in as the a test user and do not see "Site Contents" as an option from the cog wheel - is that what you advised to check?

2020-03-19_13-59-07.jpg