SharePoint, Teams, Yammer, O365 Groups - how do you identify or manage traditional SharePoint sites

Brass Contributor

I am a SharePoint Admin in O365 (not a global tenant admin).  We have a governance process in place that requires a request process, once approved my team creates the SharePoint site.  No governance process for Teams or Yammer, or O365 Groups creation.  

Sounds simple enough so far, right?  Well, Teams is taking off like wildfire, which creates a SharePoint site as part of the Teams creation process, likewise with Yammer Groups now, they create a SharePoint site.  When we access the SharePoint admin center and look at active sites, we see thousands of sites listed. 

How are you tracking the different types of sites, Traditional SharePoint vs a SharePoint site created by Teams, Yammer, or O365 Group? 

How do you show adoption, trends, etc related to SharePoint only, Teams Only, yammer only, etc.?

I would like to provide some basic metrics and trends about growth and storage, etc.  Since my focus is on SharePoint specifically, how to I filter out the sites created by other services in O365?

It also can be a challenge when we have support calls about problems a "SharePoint" site, and when we try to access the site, we get an access denied - which indicates it is either Teams, Yammer or O365 group created site (since we are not admins for those services).

any suggestions or advice?

6 Replies
I would recommend using SharePoint PnP PowerShell or SharePoint Online Management Shell and checking the Site Template, either it’s STS#0 (Classic Teamsite), STS#3 (Modern Teamsite), Group#0 (O365 Group) and Sitepagepublishing#0 (Communication Site)

@Marvin Bangert - Thanks for the reply!   Does the SharePoint Site created by a new Microsoft Teams, use a different template or the same one as a typical Modern Teams template site created through the SharePoint admin or using PowerShell?