SOLVED

SharePoint Online - List Properties Web Part not working?

Copper Contributor

This is my first time trying to get help online so pardon any faux pas. I also posted at answers.microsoft but I have not gotten any responses, so I thought I would try here. 

We utilize a SharePoint list in our office and we used to use the List Properties Web Part for quick changes and updates to items in the list. One day a couple weeks back it suddenly stopped working. I have deleted and recreated the web parts, the entire page and tried different lists and  still it is not working. The List Properties web part just doesnt display anything. It acts as if nothing is selected, even though it is. 

I searched and some people seemed to hint that it is a known issue, but I did not see anything conclusive. Is the List Properties Web Part broken and a known issue?

15 Replies
best response confirmed by LavaJones (Copper Contributor)
Solution

Hi @LavaJones,

I have the same experience. I can get it work temporarily by changing the view in the List web part but it does not persist. It seems like a bug and I will report it to support.

I hope this helps.

Nnorm

Hi @Norman Young,

I'm new to all this... We are having a similar issue. By trail and error the issue for us seems to be when we have a column in the connected list that has been set up as 'Date' type. If we use any other type everything appears to work - it's only when the column has been selected as 'date' that the List Properties Web Part appears blank on the page. If anyone has a work around I would be interested to know...

many thanks 

@sjbRector 

I have the same issue.  My list properties do nothing when I select an item in the list view.  I change the view from All Items to a different one and it works, I go back to All Items and it works too.  I do have date fields in the list and by changing them date property to text I still have the same experience.