SharePoint Online - Discard Check Out option missing for discarding other users files

Iron Contributor

I am a Site Collection Admin and I occasionally need to Discard Check Out for other users' files. This option has recently gone missing from our modern library experience. Is anyone else experiencing this or is there a method that I am not seeing?

Note: I can still discard check out for files that I have checked out. Just not for files that I do not have checked out.

I've been working around this by jumping into the Classic Experience, but would like the option back in the modern experience. 

checkout1.PNGcheckout2.PNG

20 Replies

For what it's worth, the "Discard Check Out" has re-appeared in my tenant. 

@Kimberly Roetman, Were you able to identify how the Discard Check Out option re-appeared?

Hi @robmhorton , No, we never did figure out why it disappeared then reappeared. I assumed it was an update gone wrong? 

@Kimberly Roetman I am a global admin and have the same issue, the Discard Check Out has disappeared for me. I need check in a document that a colleague checked out and has now since left the company.

Thanks,

James

@Kimberly Roetman wrote:

I am a Site Collection Admin and I occasionally need to Discard Check Out for other users' files. This option has recently gone missing from our modern library experience. Is anyone else experiencing this or is there a method that I am not seeing?

Note: I can still discard check out for files that I have checked out. Just not for files that I do not have checked out.

I've been working around this by jumping into the Classic Experience, but would like the option back in the modern experience. 

@Kimberly Roetman wrote:

@James Howell  - I worked around it by jumping into 'Classic Experience' (link at the bottom of the left quick launch). The 'Discard Check Out' option still existed there.