SharePoint Files via shared link

Copper Contributor

Hey

Im new to SharePoint, I've come across it as a business I've required design services from has shared with me a link with rights to access, download, edit, upload, etc files that he designed for us and we are working together to make changes to. 

I have full access to the files via the link only. When I'm in the link, I can see that its linked to my office365 account as the account logged in is me. 

What I want to know is, how do I get these files to work on my iMac locally.  I assume it would work similar to BOX or DRIVE, is this right. 

If that's the case, then I'd imagine these files that im access through a link should appear in my Office 365 SharePoint account? But when I go into my account without accessing the link, I cant find these files. Only found when accessing via link. 

Appreciate your help and feedback. 

5 Replies
Dpending on how the company has shared the content you may see a sync button in the document library.

Installing OneDrive for business on your Mac would then sync the files. He company need to have shared a folder or document library with you do this, I am pretty sure an individual file link cannot be synced.

@Andrew Hodges I got the OneDrive syncing with my own files but not the files I'm accessing through a web browser link from the other business who is in fact the folder/file creators which also use Office365  but there not part of our office365 account.  

Although I have full access/rights to edit upload/download to this other businesses folders/files I still cant get them to store locally on my computer.

When I'm in my SharePoint, it shows similar web address to the link I have from my supplier but it looks like one screen is operating in Sharepoint the other in Office 365.  It's like I am missing the Sync functionality between the two seperate Office365 accounts to allow the folders/files to appear in my SharePoint.