Sharepoint button to run a Power Automate flow.

Copper Contributor

I am pulling my hair out here. (Well, what little I have left!)

I am very new to Sharepoint Online / O365.  But I have sucessfully used Power Automate to create a flow, which collects file metadata, asks for a filename and uploads the file to a SharePoint Doc Library.  This works fine.

Now I want to fire this by hitting a button on my Sharepoint site.   I create the button, but I cannot find anywhere where it tells me the URL of the flow I've created!

Can anyone tell me where this is hidden?

15 Replies

I'm still new myself and have a similar question. As with most Microsoft things, you may need to devise a nonsensical workaround. Here's the best solution I've been able to integrate into our workflow.

Install and sign into the Power Automate app on your phone. You should find your button on the Buttons page. Select [ ... ] and choose Share Button Link. This will give you a url to access your workflow. Copy this url and open it on your computer's web browser.
Depending on where you want this, you can usually find a place in SharePoint to create a link using this url. I have a weblink in a SharePoint Document Library which I've pinned to the top of the library for easier access. I also have the link on various buttons on our Hub Site homepage.

To my knowledge, someone please tell me otherwise, the Power Automate app is the only place to find the url to the button.

@SimonMarkEdwards it's not a url you need, it's the ID of the flow. You get this from the main screen of the flow as follows:

1-Flow-ID.png

If your button is in a document library or the Site Pages library then the trigger in your flow needs to be "For a selected file". If the button is in a list then the trigger should be "For a selected item".