SOLVED

re: give access to a user to view all items in a Sharepoint list which has setting (by the user)

Copper Contributor

Hi all, 

Im quite new to sharepoint online and have been struggling to give access to a user to view all items in a sharepoint list. This list has a setting in advanced which allows the users to read / edit items created by the user only. However i also want to give access to other users to view the contents of the entire list. 

The scenarios is this:

1. Each manager creates and views his own recruitment items (working fine).

2. HR manager views all the items created by all managers. (In Permissions settings i cannot seem to find a Read only permission to view all the items in the sharepoint List) if that is possible? 

3. HR Personnel also need to view all items 

So far i have tried adding hr manager and assigning approve permissions and it works (all items in the list are shown), but it allows the hr manager to add new items or edit items in the list. For the HR manager it's fine, however i will also need to add HR personnel to view only the all the items of this list. How can i achieve this ?

Any help would be appreciated :) 

Cheers 

6 Replies

@KrisCachia go to List settings then over on the right click on Permissions for this list. To make the permissions more fine-grained click on Stop Inheriting permissions in the ribbon at the top left. Then select the checkbox next to the group who should have only read permissions, normally your visitors group, and click on Edit user permissions in the ribbon. That will give you the following screen where you can select what permissions they should have. Any user group who needs to add items to the list will need contribute permissions, but if your users are only reading the list items then just check the Read box.

readPermissions.png

Rob
Los Gallardos
Intranet, SharePoint, Website and Power Platform Manager (and classic 1967 Morris Traveller driver)

Hi there,