question about publishing files

Brass Contributor

Every file in one of our document libraries has the "Changes were made to this file. Publish to update changes." It is even doing it for PDFs that have been uploaded and there is no Publish option in the menu. This isn't happening in other document libraries. I'm still relatively new to SP so a few questions:

1. Does anyone know why this is happening and how to stop it? 

2. If I can't stop it from happening, can I just tell people to ignore it? 

3. When does someone actually need to publish changes? For example, if they edit a document someone shares with them, they don't have to publish the file for those edits to show up, correct? 

15 Replies

@0123456789- We have exactly the same problem across a number of site collections, and have no resolution either at this stage: it is confusing our users. The wording in our system is slightly different: 

Changes were made to this file. Republish to update changes.

@0123456789 

We are having the same issue. Does anyone know how to turn off this "document publishing" feature?

@Rob Barker  I am posting the solution we discovered earlier so to help others as well.

The solution is to go to the Library Settings > Versioning Settings and make sure that the "Create major and minor (draft) versions" option is NOT selected.

You can select No versioning or Create major versions, but don't select the last one. If you do, you will be forced to publish documents.

Capture.PNG

@tommy1973 Yes, there might be a way to get around this with the draft settings/content approval stuff.  Which would mean something like an approver can only publish.  Or perhaps through customized permission levels.  Which might risk breaking other things.