SOLVED

Power Automate: IF date falls on a weekend THEN subtract 2 days (SharePoint List)

Copper Contributor

Good day,

I've created a list called Recurring Finance Tasks:

RobinProctor_1-1685008694144.png

I do not want tasks to fall on a weekend.

How can I build a flow that checks the date daily and subtracts two days (putting the date in the previous week) if the date falls on a weekend?

RobinProctor_4-1685009136735.png

RobinProctor_0-1685009832087.png

Condition expressions:

• and(not(equals(item()?['Next Date'], null)), equals(formatDateTime(item()?['Next Date'], 'dddd'), 'Saturday'))
  • and(not(equals(item()?['Next Date'], null)), equals(formatDateTime(item()?['Next Date'], 'dddd'), 'Sunday'))

Next Date expressions:

• addDays(item()?['Next Date'], -2, 'dd-MM-yyyy')

I've tried so many different approaches and keep failing, I'm not a coder so please excuse any mistakes I've made via my endless Googling.

Any help would be hugely appreciated!

Regards,

Robin

2 Replies
best response confirmed by RobinProctor (Copper Contributor)
Solution

@RobinProctor you seem to be slightly over-complicating it. In my example below there is the Review Date column, a calculated column for Weekday using the formula 

=IF(ISBLANK([Review Date]),"",TEXT([Review Date],"dddd"))

The WeekdayChecked column is a choice column with the choices No and Yes and a default value of No. The items that will be changed are Almeria (Sunday), Lubrin (Sunday), Mojacar (Saturday) and Villaricos (Sunday).
0-SPList.png

After the recurrence schedule trigger the first action is to get the items but I've added a filter query of WeekdayChecked eq 'No' so it's not having to check every item in the list every day.

1-Flow.png

The condition just needs to Weekday is equal to Saturday Or Weekday is equal to Sunday.

2-Flow.png

In the red if no channel add an update item action and change the WeekdayChecked Value column to Yes.

3-Flow.png