SOLVED

Populate a date column automatically

Copper Contributor

How do I populate a date column automatically when the status field is changed to "Implemented" with a Sharepoint List?

I am new to using PowerAutomate, and I am trying to have the project close date automatically populate to "Today's Date" when the status field has moved to Implemented. It doesn't seem to work, and the field is not updating after testing. The following error message is coming back after testing. 

Message: ActionDependencyFailed. The execution of template action 'Update_item' is skipped: dependant action 'Condition' completed with status 'Failed' and code 'BadRequest'.

What am I missing?

Powerauto3.pngPowerauto2.pngPowerauto1.png

10 Replies
best response confirmed by Sharepoint_Chris (Copper Contributor)
Solution

@Sharepoint_Chris this is not difficult and it compares the current version of the item with the previous one, so you MUST make sure that in your list settings -> versioning settings that Item Version History is set to on. I normally set the number of versions to 10.

In this example I prepared for a similar forum post a while back we are checking whether the Status column has changed and, if so, whether the status is now Completed. If it is then add today's date in the Completed column.

0-SPList-Versioning.png

The trigger in the flow is "when an item or a file is modified":

1-Flow.png

The first action is "get changes for an item or a file (properties only)". For the ID field select ID from the when an item or a file is modified section of the dynamic content box. 

For the Since field you need to add the following expression to get the previous version:

sub(int(triggerOutputs()?['body/{VersionNumber}']),1)

2-Flow.png

Next, add a condition:

• in the left box select Has Column Changed: Status
  • in the middle box select is equal to
  • in the right box type true

3a-Flow.png