Need help with Groups in SharePoint, please

Brass Contributor

Hello SharePoint community!

My Background: 
I'm fairly new to SharePoint and Office 365, I've been cramming as much information as possible in the past few days. I've also been learning PowerShell as rapidly as possible. All of it is very big to take in, this is such an interesting part of the Software world. 

I'm newly hired to a tech company that is working on a PowerApp with Office 365 (mobile app) that interacts with SharePoint. It lets users file reports that get turned into documents hosted by SharePoint Sites. The users are generally older folks who are fairly new to technology, so the app has to be as user friendly as possible. 

My Situation: 
I'm tasked with finding out a way to automate permissions for users and groups for SharePoint. When there is a new event, we have 30-100 users (new and existing users) who need access to a SharePoint Site and specific Subsites and Folders. I need to be managing these permissions with a co-worker, and we desperately need a way to automate this process. So far my co-worker who is the creator of the app/site has been managing this by herself, which has been a lot of work. She's had to go into each site/folder and add/change permissions for each individual user.
I am tasked with learning groups so we can automate this process. So far what I know is that there are different kinds of groups, such as Security groups, Teams groups, Assigned groups, Dynamic groups, and Distribution lists. 

My Questions: 

1. How do I use Groups in order to best manage large amounts of users; make sure they have the right permissions to access the right Sharepoint Site, subsites, and folders?
  2. How do I automate this process as much as possible so we can manage users in bulk?