SOLVED

Move/Copy SharePoint Pages from one Site to Another in Classic View

Brass Contributor

Hi everyone, I've recently been tasked with moving site pages from one site to another. I've read how you could use Classic view to do this. I'm a SharePoint administrator for our company and have made myself admin of the two sites I'm working with.

Problem is, whenever I try to move/copy pages across and put the URL in, it always says I don't have right access for it and would need to request permission from the site owners (me essentially) and no matter how many times I approve myself it just keeps looping me back to the same problem.

Does anyone know what's causing this or what I'm doing wrong?

44 Replies

@Corbenik 

Welcome to the forums.  There is a difference between the site owners group and site collection administration.  Do you know which one you are?

And can you also provide some information on how you've attempted to copy the files thus far please? I'm guessing you're trying Explorer View in Classic as Copy / move functionality,  the last I checked didn't work through the modern interface for site pages.

@Steven Andrews I'm the site collection admin. I switched to the classic view as I heard (and saw) that there was no way to do this with the modern interface

Corbenik_0-1626213685007.png

On clicking that copy command I get taken to the copy prompt and after filling in the necessary details like the destination URL and clicking ok :

Corbenik_1-1626213990057.png

It would ask me to request permission, and even if go through with that and then grant myself permission (which is strange as I'm already the site collection admin for both source and destination sites), when I try to copy again it says I need permission again.

best response confirmed by Corbenik (Brass Contributor)
Solution

@Corbenik you can also copy pages, including any images on them, to a different site using a simple flow in Power Automate:
Button.png

Flow.png

Rob
Los Gallardos