Media Library as a single source of truth

Copper Contributor

I am new to SharePoint and I am planning to build a larger hub site for our company where there are several sub-sites. I have now created the hub site and assigned several sub-sites to the hub. In the next step I would like to upload many files (PDFs, PowerPoint, .jpgs etc.). The goal would be to create a "single source of truth", i.e. that I maintain all files in one place (hub library) and link them to the subpages. I have found out that I can embed a document link to a defined order on the subpages. However, I would like to embed the individual files within the page in defined sections. The aim is that when a document update is made in the (Hub Library), it is automatically updated on the subpages and displayed correctly.

What solutions are out there from your point of view?

In a second step, there are different language versions of many documents. I would like to integrate these on the subpages with the different language versions per subpage.

What do you think is the best solution to implement this?

3 Replies

Hello @doro_3000 

in M365 you can create an organization asset library:

https://learn.microsoft.com/en-us/sharepoint/organization-assets-library

Other way is to use a third-party tool for document template management  like https://www.officeatwork.com/ .

Regards, Dave

@David Mehr 

There are a few different solutions that you can use to create a media library as a single source of truth in SharePoint. One option is to use a hub library. A hub library is a special type of library that can be used to store files that are shared across multiple sites. To create a hub library, you will need to create a new library on your hub site. Once you have created the library, you can add files to it just like you would any other library.