SOLVED

How to cusotmize the grouped list title backgound color

Copper Contributor

Hello.

I'm new to sharepoint online (and I must say I'm loving it).
But I'm having trouble customizing the header in the Grouped List Layout.
I need each header to have a background color depending on its content. Example: if the title contains the string "abc" the background must be green. If it contains the string "cde" the background must be red.

As my grouped list has few items I tried to do this manually, for each item, following this tutorial https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/sharepoint/dev/declarative-customization/view-list-formatting#examp... but this JSON gives error.

Does anyone have any idea what could be wrong?

This is what I currently have:

Site-de-comunicação-Interessados-em-Cursos-Presenciais-TESTE-Tabela-Squadra.png

Thank you in advance for your attention.

5 Replies

@valderes-squadra 

Look for the "style" property within the JSON object that applies to the formatting of your grouped headers (see green-circled in image).  The properties within the style object are standard CSS properties and their values.

For background coloring you want to insert within the style object as follows

"style": {
   "background-color":  "<allowed-CSS-color-value>",
},

When writing JSON, be careful that both the property name and the property value are double-quoted (not single-quoted), and that the property name is always set with a colon character from the property value! And be careful of commas when separating property settings in objects and for objects (objects are contained with curly braces) and also for arrays (contained within square brackets). Bad JSON can be disappointing.

CSS color values typically used have one of any the formats:

1. hex value:   #RRGGBB. Note the preceding hashmark (#).  The RR, GG, BB digits are hexadecimal values ranging from 00 to FF, and RR, GG, BB, are the red/green/blue combination