SOLVED

Hiding links for users without access

Brass Contributor

I am trying to figure out how to hide links in the Top Bar navigation for users that do not have access to something. I find it strange that I don't get many search results in Google that even discuss it.

My structure is Hub Site with a Communication Site that has several subsites. The top Bar navigation (starting at the Hub) contains links to the various subsites. Not all users have access to these sites but the links still show up for them. After doing a little research, these links are in fact hard coded, which is a big part of the problem.

My tenant does not yet have the Audience Targeting option for navigation which appears to be rolling out soon. At this point, I have not enabled the SharePoint Server Publishing Infrastructure at the Communication site. I'm not entirely sure I want to do that based on what I've read. By enabling this feature, would it give me options to hide those links?

I'm really new to SP and not sure if I want to complicate matters by enabling SharePoint Server Publishing Infrastructure. Maybe I need this and just don't realize it yet.

Thanks!

14 Replies
best response confirmed by alandarr (Brass Contributor)
Solution

@alandarr 

Hi, The feature you are looking for is called security trimming, and you are correct in that if you want to make use of this then you will need to enable the publishing feature.  So it's a bit of a trade off i'm afraid.  You can read more about the options here - https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/office365/enterprise/navigation-options-for-sharepoint-online 

The other way is a custom navigation implemented through a SPFx extension...by the way not a fan here of enabling publishing on modern sites

@Juan Carlos González Martín 

Totally agree, also not a fan of doing so.

@Juan Carlos González MartínWould you mind saying a bit more about why you don't care for publishing on Modern sites?  Thanks! 

@Juan Carlos González Martín @PeterRising