Help with date in Json

New Contributor

Hi all,

Im fairly new to Sharepoint and I'm learning about JSON formatting but i have a situation that has me a bit confused, hopefully you can help me clarify.

I have a list of outsource personnel. In that list i have 3 columns. "Name", "Start Date", and "End Date". (Name is a text field and start and end dates are date fields).

I have second "Lab" list where I'm trying some stuff and I've created one lookup column named "_Name" where im grabbing the name of the my outsource personnel list and I'm also showing the two dates columns now under _Name:Start Date and _Name:End Date.

I also created (on the lab list) another date type column named "test" and i just want to display the content of the lookup "_Name:Start Date" column as a date (im just practicing some stuff btw)

So basically this is what i have

{
   "$schema": "https://developer.microsoft.com/json-schemas/sp/v2/column-formatting.schema.json",
   "elmType": "div",
   "txtContent": "=Date([$_Name_x003a_Start_Date.lookupValue])"
}

Under test i see a date, BUT its showing the date of 12/31/1969 19:00:00 instead of the date i have populated 06/21/2021 17:00:00.

As far as i know im just converting the value from _Name:Start Date into a date format, but i dont know why am i getting a different date.

Any clues about what could the be problem?

thanks in advance
Juan

1 Reply

@Jsanjur

You cannot use the extended columns in lookup in JSON formatting. You can only use the lookupId & lookupValue (Main value - Name).

From documentation

The lookup field object has the following properties (with example values):

{
   "lookupId": "100",
   "lookupValue": "North America",
}

You can only use the value of column you selected in lookup settings - In this column:

ganeshsanap_0-1623576601346.png