Help VMware esxi vm High CPU running SharePoint server 2019

Copper Contributor

Environment: VMware esxi vm running SharePoint server 2019 on Server 2019.

Issue: We had to reboot the server while working another issue. Since about that time the VM CPU usage has been way up. It was averaging 20ish % before reboot and now is at 70-80%.

We have rebooted the server for other maintenance this year without a problem.  The only thing I can think of is that SQL server VM got cloned, so 2 were in production at same time.  The clone has since been shutdown.  Could SharePoint be running extra services or processes looking for cloned vm? 

I'm new to SharePoint server so I'm new share what is 'normal'.  The VM has 10gig memory allotted.

jcmfxt_0-1654091391667.png

jcmfxt_1-1654091459809.png

Thank you for the help.

12 Replies

@jcmfxt your issue requires bit more info:

• Which is the SharePoint Architecture topology ? Single server , Multiple Servers etc..
  • Which MinRole has been assigned to the impacted server ?

The problem with SQL may be related.

It depends how you have configured the instance at the very beginning in SP:

If you used alias name than it should not be a problem, meaning you just swap the instance behind the alias at the moment of the SQL server clone and the rest is transparent for SharePoint.

If not than you have to check each SP service (MMS, Search, BDC etc...) and see where they are pointing to

Thanks for replying. I'm new to SharePoint and this company and everything was already deployed. We have a single server with only about 15 users. In Central admin is says role is custom. I'm not sure where to check if there's an alias or where the SP services are pointing.

@jcmfxt 

Custom role means you are not taking benefits of the MinRole feature and you can decide every SP service startup on your own (as we are talking of a single server it's fine).