Help me adhere to best practices. Please!

Copper Contributor
I'm an Office 365 deployment engineer with 15 years of professional experience advocating and implementing Microsoft's cloud offerings. I've always seen the vision that the company had laid out, even when I didn't agree. But I am having difficulties with the modern SharePoint infornation architecture. I hope I just have blinders on and am missing something obvious.

Here is a very common scenario for clients I work with. A law firm has 10 attorneys, each with specialized areas of practice: civil, criminal, litigaton, business law, family law etc. For each area of practice an attorney does work, they have a set of documents that they use for templates, research etc. The firm itself also has it's own IT department, HR department, and firm legal department. The firm has clients, lawyers have clients individually or sometimes a couple of attorneys will share a client. Some clients may have 1 case that has one attorney. However some cases might have 10 clients and 3 attorneys (class action for example). Also some clients may have 300 cases with 1 attorney and some may have 300 cases with 4 different attorneys. To make things more complicated, a firm may have a case where 1 attorney has a conflict of interest requiring a "Chinese Firewall". Also add in paralegals, secretaries and other support staff.

I've had no issues creating this structure for years with the traditional site collection heirarchy. It's actually been a dream of a platform. However I am completely lost as to how I could possibly duplicate this in the modern flat site world.

It's very common for a small firm as described above to have 3-5,000 active cases for 1000 clients. Add to this another 10-50,000 archived cases and 5,000 clients. Some of which have 5 documents others that have thousands spanning 10 years.